h1

Stuff I Like in Manila #2: Bookstores

November 22, 2008

Stacked inside Manila, often found in shopping malls, are sanctuaries to Knowledge.
Their sizes range from tiny chapels to grand cathedrals. They have different ways of recruiting the devotion of buyers. Some sell overpriced coffee and food as a message that they offer books of high quality. Some merely stack the books into their respective genres, silently telling buyers that the stores also belong to them. Yet there is one offer that is particularly tempting: reading chairs.

These chairs are like relaxing pews that give a pilgrim respite from his physical wanderings and a boost for his mental wanderings. On them he is able to settle comfortably as his mind is transported to the worlds inscribed in books. The books, btw, can be had around him without charge. He merely has to grab any unsealed item, and he is free to do whatever he wants short of damaging it.
When I traveled inside a mall in Manila, I was like a pilgrim seeking an oasis to ease my mind in my wanderings. I rested for a while in Powerbooks, Mall of Asia. The place was like a temple dedicated not just to knowledge, but also to those who sought whatever kind knowledge. I looked around for the knowledge that I could barely find in Iligan. I found books under the Science Fiction and Fantasy genre.


Then I realized that my mind was no longer a pilgrim. It had found its home…

4 comments

  1. nice. ^_^


  2. What I like about Manila are not so much the bookstores found in the malls but those bookstores around the corner where you can purchase cheap yet good books.


    • Ahhh. Booksale and other 2nd hand bookstores. I love looking at random titles, and getting the strange but pleasant feeling when one title just seems to call out to me, tempting me to buy.


  3. Excellent content here and a nice writing style too – keep up the great work!



Leave a Reply

