h1

Stuff I Like in Manila #1: Malls

November 14, 2008

For someone who lives in a city that officially has one shopping mall, but in actuality has only less than a quarter of a mall, Manila shopping malls are must-see places.
Yet if someone were to strip away those malls’ fancy building designs, air conditioning, security guards, and cleaning staff; what would be left would be hot, dirty, and smelly stalls manned by loud vendors. Those stalls would fit in the marketplace environment, because the truth is that shopping malls are nothing but glorified marketplaces.
Not to disparage malls, I think they are way better than marketplaces. Buying necessities and luxuries with convenience and at comparable prices to market prices is a great improvement. In malls, the customer is no longer confronted with offensive smells, dirty streets, and untrustworthy goods’ prices.
Btw, here are a few pics I took in the Mall of Asia while I was waiting for my brother to pick me up.



Yet, to be always confronted with a good thing is to lose appreciation with that thing. For me, one mall is as good as another. It’s just like in the saying that if you’ve been to one, then you’ve been to all. I was not struck with the architecture of Trinoma because I had already been to the Mall of Asia. These were malls I didn’t have opportunity to visit when I still studied in Manila. Yet when I stepped into them, I realized that they were no longer “big deals” to me. I didn’t even visit Glorietta and Greenbelt again.
They were just malls. They were just places where people buy and sell. They were just marketplaces, but just a little bit glorified.

2 comments

  1. i like malls, too.

    they have almost everything. ^_^

    but i hate having to walk so much.


  2. My Art Stud prof: It’s a challenge not to spend a single cent when I go to malls. I agree wholeheartedly.



Leave a Reply

