h1

Stuff I Hate in Manila #3: Price

October 31, 2008

Everything is expensive in Manila.
What I can buy cheap in Iligan can cost twice as much in Manila. Food I can eat for less than P40 in Iligan can be bought for twice as much in Manila, and to think I’m still referring to ordinary fare. Borderline fancy fare in Manila can cost more than twice the average wage in Iligan. Genuinely fancy fare in Manila may very well cost someone his life in Iligan.
Even basic commodities are very pricey in Manila. Coffee-shop-served coffee is beyond the reach of ordinary folk of Iligan or Manila. Personally, I do not crave pricey coffee and rarely buy it even when I was still studying in Manila. Nevertheless, who am I to decline if somebody offered to treat me with it.

Coffee
Shown above is coffee courtesy of D*, a generous Kalayaan batch-mate of mine.

Coffee, btw, is not the only expensive ordinary product in Manila. The list includes ice cream, burgers, steaks, soaps, perfumes, and perhaps every other item known to modern man. Whatever product that can be sold for pits in Iligan can be sold for diamond dust in Manila. Whatever also that product may feel like when it’s first used, it will eventually become bland and tasteless in the future.
Yet strangely, people do buy the expensive stuff as opposed to the cheaper ones. I can understand them if their main priority in buying expensive goods is product quality. Yet I fail to see the point on why they would buy those stuff for altogether different reasons. Do they even know what the word S-A-V-E* means?
I must admit that I was tempted to enjoy the pricey luxuries of Manila. I could afford many of the usual Yuppie luxury fare. Yet I know that to succumb to that lifestyle is to live and work in Manila, and to abandon my pursuit of medicine. I could easily pay that coin, but I dare not. The price is too expensive for such a fleeting luxury.

*Strangely, despite the credit crunch; people still flock ind droves to malls in Manila.

2 comments

  1. When I go home to the province, I always take time to go to moviehouses because the movies there cost so much less. Php 50 compared to, what, Php150 here.


  2. I would have to agree. Prices are getting more and more outrageous these days. I go out much less during these times.



Leave a Reply

