h1

Day of the Tentacle (A Review)

March 10, 2008

It’s one of the best games I’ve ever played. It’s just one whacked up comedy that’ll leave you wasting hours playing it. If you like wit, sarcasm, and a little bit of dark humor; then you’d definitely love Maniac Mansion 2: Day of the Tentacle.
Travel into the Past, the Present, and the Future of the United States of America, and change history. Prevent a mutated Tentacle, who grew arms and developed a thirst for world domination from actually dominating the world. All it takes is a sharp and a wee bit twisted mind . A knowledge of American history, by the way, is also a great plus.
Not to brag, but my brother and I finished this game a long time ago. Studying at a school that had a curriculum literally plucked out from the USA certainly helped.* Having sharp and creative minds definitely helped. A walkthrough that we consulted only near the end part, in a way also somehow helped.**
That game is timeless! A dozen modern games would not weigh enough to rank with this classic.

*No. I’m not talking about the Philippine public school system even though it was initially based on the American system. My school taught us American history, American money, and American values. I knew about George Washington before I knew about Jose Rizal. I was more proficient in counting dimes, nickels, and pennies before I could count in centavos and pesos. I didn’t believe in utang na loob. And even though I only studied 6 years in that school, and have assimilated mostly into mainstream Filipino culture, there are still times when mainstream Filipino culture actually shock me. That topic, however, is for another blog entry…

** That game was hard!!

3 comments

  1. favorited this one, dude


  2. thanx.


  3. I found my old copy of this game. I found out about ScummVM and gave it a try and it works really well with the mac. I’m trying to see if this will work with the DS as well.

    I started playing and remembered how much fun it was.



Leave a Reply

