h1

NMAT Part 5

February 4, 2008

WOOT! I got my NMAT score, and I have to ask you, my dear readers, to read the entire entry before I reveal the score.

I hurriedly went to the Med school around here to get my score.
The clerk welcomed me when I told her what I wanted. She told me to sit, and I promptly did while I hurriedly put on a mask of complacency and aloofness. Yet inside, I was bursting to boiling point, and I doubt I did a good job with the mask. I wanted to know my score to the exclusion of all else.
“I saw your score,” she said. “Do you still want to proceed to Medicine?”
“Yes,” I answered. The word bore the weight of much sacrifice and heavy experience.
I sensed that she was being coy about it. She was trying to scare me, and make me think that I got a low score. She was voicing out some of my doubts of the previous week, but I knew there was only one way to silence them. I had to know my score.
She asked me to stand beside her while she aligned a ruler just under my name. All the anxiousness and restlessness that I had felt centered on what she showed me. All the questions that pestered me since I took the exam coalesced in that single second:
Did I get a good score?
Did the other takers finish part I?*
Will the machine reject my paper?
Did I follow instructions regarding the registration details?
Is it possible that my answer sheet could have been lost?
And a whole lot more…
The figure she showed me was the representation of all the effort I made just so I could get to Med school. It was within the range of what I had expected considering that I had shotgunned more than 10 questions in the test. It was not what I had set to achieve, but it was the most beautiful number I ever saw.
I had committed the result to God even before I knew what it was. It belonged to Him, and is for His glory alone. All that I have and have done came from Him alone, and I gave Him back a portion of what he had bestowed upon me.
“You’re qualified for PGH,” the clerk said.
“Yeah,” I continued with a smile, “but I want to study here.”
So I asked their leave and left the building still bearing the smile. Knowledge of my score did not slow my pace, it only made it quicker. I hoped then that time would match my pace and make it June so that I could begin as a medical student.
Yet, I must as usual wait. Nevertheless, this waiting is different from the anxious waiting I had earlier. This time I could wait and rest. TO GOD ALONE BE THE GLORY.

*I did not finish Part I.😦.

12 comments

  1. so what’s your score?


  2. i guess now we have to anxiously wait??
    sidenote: i’ve been reading for about a month or so now, but this is my first comment🙂


  3. that would be a 95, mark. hehe.
    and steph, it was just that Smart Bro acted up again, so I had to wait another day to post the result.
    I was waiting for the first comment.
    btw, do you have a blog? I’d like to read it too.


  4. wow. that’s impressive. nice job!


  5. thanx. I couldn’t have done it without God.🙂


  6. I have a livejournal, and I’d be happy to add you. I can’t promise that you’ll enjoy mine like I enjoy yours, but I’ll add you🙂
    And awesome score! God’s so cool that he cares about us so much🙂


  7. Jords,

    So you coming back here in the Metro (ie, qualified for PGH)? ;-]


  8. Nahhh. I love it here. Btw, I didn’t apply there, and their ap period already finished last month. hehe.


  9. CONGRATULATIONS ! I am so happy for you!


  10. hi just read ur blog.. im planning to take nmat too this year here in california. just wanna ask what are the components of the test? like physics, chem,bio math, analogy???… what are the subjects involved? is there an essay writing too? thanks…


  11. yep. Those subjects are covered. Just make sure you master the General courses for Chemistry, Physics, Biology, and Social Science; and you’ll go ok for the academic part.
    There’s no essay portion, but the aptitude portion was kind of hard. You’ll get the idea when you receive the complementary sample test booklets after your application.


  12. Congratulations! I haven’t read your recent posts (yet — but I have read about your posts about NMAT). I hope you’re doing well in med school. I just took the NMAT on April 2011 and I’m on my way to med school hopefully this June. God bless!



Leave a Reply

