h1

Call Me Godfather

December 16, 2007

Godfather
I’m now a godfather.
It’s my first time so I must say I am still jittery about it. I’m asking questions like what gift should I buy for a boy below a year old, and what else should I do besides give gifts at Christmas and his birthday. I guess everything will just be sorted out as the years go by.
Anyway, I had a realization a few minutes before my companions and me were officially recognized as godparents. It seems that every godparent (or is it just the first-timers like me?) have different aspirations for his or her godchild, and it is reflected by the gifts he or she gives. For example, godparents who aspire for the child to become good in sports will give sports-affiliated gifts. Those who want the child to be smart would likewise give educational gifts.
This realization made me understand how the fairy godmothers in the story of Sleeping Beauty must have felt. They also had aspirations for their godchild as I have with mine. The only difference between us is that they have the power to make their aspirations come true. I, however, must only hope that my aspirations would come true. IMO, my folk are at a disadvantage against them. Nevertheless, I did find one advantage for the child if he or she lacks fairy folk as godparents. At least, he or she won’t worry about being pricked by a needle and sleeping a 100 years as a consequence for it!

4 comments

  1. […] admin had some great ideas on this topic.You can read a snippet of the post here.have different aspirations for his or her godchild, and it is reflected by the gifts he or she gives. For example, godparents who aspire for the child to become good in sports will give sports-affiliated gifts. Those who want the child … […]


  2. ah… it’s refreshing to read your posts again, anak.🙂 i’ll go through all of them, some time in the near future… and i totally agree: ants are evil. :p


  3. Thanx for visiting kya. hehe. Btw, please update naman more frequently.


  4. e walang panahon magsulat e. alam mo naman ako, OC masyado lalo na sa pagsulat. hehehe. :p pero sige, magre-resolution daw ako ngayong 2008. can’t promise a weekly update, though; monthly maybe. :p



Leave a Reply

