h1

Rise of (my) Civilization

November 8, 2007

The Germans didn’t stand a chance. They came too close within my borders for comfort that I decided to wipe them out. Besides, their land looked fertile. My people would love to live there. The Russians were no different. I gave them a choice to leave or declare war. They chose the latter and promptly got destroyed. Their legions of horsemen did not stand a chance against my cavalry half their number.
The Byzantines knelt and swore fealty to my superior might as my armies coming from a continent away took their cities piece by piece. They had an Oracle that I envied. I captured him and made him work for my cause. The Aztecs posed a challenge. I could have been driven out from their continent if not for the help of the Hittites. Eventually, their knees buckled and I took my place as Emperor in their land.
I made sure the English were my friends. I bribed them with luxuries they hadn’t even heard of. So when the Hittites called for their help against me, they flatly refused. Soon it was raining ICBMs across the Hittite lands. Cities that used to harbor millions were left with a few thousands. Land cultivated through millenia, in a single day became too dangerous for use. What’s worse for them was that I completely ravaged every Hittite city I’ve captured.
I would have done the same to the English except that the game decided that I had used up all my remaining turns. I was declared the winner and took top place in the roster of high scores. And that concluded game play that stretched for three real days to the exclusion of a lot of my responsibilities. It was a great game, but I wouldn’t be touching it for a few days.
I now remember why I uninstalled that game before. It was eating up everything in me, my life and even my thoughts. Truly Civilization 3: Conquests is perhaps the greatest strategy game ever made.

4 comments

  1. You used ICBMs?! Evil! Hahaha! Civ3 Conquests IS the best strategy game I’ve played WAY better than Civ4, but I hope they merge some of their good concepts for Civ5.


  2. ICBMs are great! I stockpiled more than 30 in my cities. hehe. People don’t get fussy about them, and I can’t say the same is true about nukes.
    I used Chinese, Industrious and Militaristic, but I’d rather use a Religious civ next time. IMO, they’re better.
    I’d like to try Civ 4, but I still need more Memory. hehe.


  3. I played one game where I used the Chinese that was when I was still starting Civ3 I felt uncomfortable to establish a Chinese democracy even if I loved the Chinese Riders so I chose America on my next games until now. I play nations based on their preference of government, as of now I played an American Democracy and a Russian Communism. Soon I want to play with a German Fascist state. Hehehe.


  4. Btw, Fascism is a weak type of government. It’s only good during the first few turns. It disintegrates spontaneously, and you end up with Anarchy when the people grow weary of it. hehe.
    I prefer Religious civs. My favorite is Japan. They’re Religious and Militaristic. That means lesser turns for Anarchy during Revolutions and greater Military strength. hehehe.



Leave a Reply

