h1

Drip my Blood

August 26, 2007

Blood Pack
I’ll be donating blood again. Doctors and Medical Technologists would see that it’s properly done.
They’re going to bleed me 450 cc of life giving liquid. They’re going to explain that it’s going to help my body, that it has a cleansing effect. They’re going to get me to answer questionnaires and sign waivers for whatever legal purpose to prevent me from suing them. They’re going to insert a needle into my vein, and let the liquid flow to the clear plastic bags, turning them dark red. They’re going to make me lie down on a folding bed to recuperate. They’re going to feed me cheap snacks, which will remind me of the consuelo de bobo practice of older times. Then they’ll give me the coveted donor card.
The card I was not given the previous time I donated because I gave them too little. It is a condition in my body, or it could be just a Med tech fumble, for my veins to collapse preventing further bleeding. They say that I would have benefits with that card. I trust their word for it. I do not trust their other rubbish.
What I mean by rubbish is what they tell others so that they may donate. I’m not referring to noble self sacrifice, but to the “benefits” of blood letting. Blood letting is not helpful; it has never been helpful. Travel through time to the middle and early modern ages, and you’ll see the devastating effect of blood letting.
George Washington died because of it! He believed in the theory of humors, that sickness was caused by an imbalance of body humors or fluids. Since blood is the easiest humor to remove, then it became standard practice then to bleed patients for a variety of sicknesses.
Now they’re trying that trick again. They’ll say, “We’ll remove your blood, then you’ll be healthier.” I’ll nod my head in pretended acquiescence, and let them do their stuff that I may get the prize, the blood donor card. They should have known better. Blood is continually being replaced whether we bleed or not. Besides, blood letting leaves us weaker. There’d be less oxygen traveling through our circulatory system if there’d be fewer oxygen carriers, the erythrocytes in the blood. And what about the lymphocytes, neutrophils, etc.; our friends who protect us from infection.
So when they bleed me later, I’ll sheepishly nod and grin. I don’t believe in the medical benefits they promise, but I do believe in the benefit of the donor card.

Leave a Reply

